So Long Mrs T, It Hasn’t Been Good To Know You

So it’s finally happened: Maggie Thatcher has snuffed it. It was only announced at lunchtime, yet I’m already bored with the non-stop coverage. Much as I love the BBC, it excelled itself today, with Radio 4’s World At One stretched to an hour and talking about nothing else. I suspect the PM programme will be the same and I hate to think what the TV will be like. I don’t intend to find out. I’ve declared my flat a news free zone until further notice.

The worst thing is the largely uncritical, sycophantic and even affectionate nature of the coverage. She was always a divisive figure, and this hasn’t stopped just because she’s dead. Criticism of her should not cease merely from a misguided sense of respect for the dead, as Glenn Greenwald writes in The Guardian today. She wasn’t a saint while she was alive, and she certainly isn’t one now.

Perhaps the worst aspect of this is that (as I suspected in my blog entry on 26/01/13), she is indeed to get a state funeral. Just why should she be so honoured? There is already an online petition against this, which I have signed and would urge anyone who reads this to do the same.

While I wouldn’t go as far as some in wanting to dance on her grave, I certainly won’t be mourning her. Her policies caused misery for many and devastated communities, and led to the mess we are in now. We should be trying to find a fair solution to her poisonous legacy, not beatifying its creator.

Tags: ,

One Response to “So Long Mrs T, It Hasn’t Been Good To Know You”

  1. Jay Says:

    Well said! I agree with everything you say.

Leave a Reply

