Citalopram Hydrobromide

If I were to write
I can’t live without you
You would be forgiven for thinking
Of a person, so necessary, too necessary
That life without them
Is worthless and might as well end.

You could think that
Obvious thought, that ridiculous cliché
But I’m no Harry Nilsson
Ripping out my heart in a number one song
For people to sing in kitchens, baths
Or crawling cars.

No, that’s not me, though I have loved,
Thought that cliché of someone
Until my neuroses revealed the lie,
Sought solace and relief in bottles,
Beer, vodka, brandy and finally
Citalopram hydrobromide.

The daily milligram pop into palm,
Twenty, thirty and finally forty,
A thickening stick I lean more heavily on
With the days and can’t release
For fear of slipping and breaking bones
On ice and concrete.

So when I write I can’t live without you
This is what I mean,
The encapsulated chemical compound
Mainlined to my fractured brain
To keep the current flowing
Without which I cannot open the door

In the morning, move, concentrate,
Function. Citalopram hydrobromide
I love you, I hate you,
I can’t live without you,
Damn you little white pill,
I need to sniff your glue.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

