The Last Blast of the Trumpet Against the Monstrous Rule of Stupid Bosses

What is it about some people in management positions who get on despite their patent and manifest lack of ability and lack of people skills? I have had the misfortune of coming across several such people, and the worst of all, the absolute pits, was my team leader at Serco-Peterborough. She was the worst manager I’ve ever had to work with, and I’ve worked with some turkeys in my time.

So what made her so awful? Not only is she one of the rudest and most patronising people I’ve ever met, she is also one of the most stupid. Harsh words perhaps, but it became obvious very quickly. She could seldom answer any queries I had without hiding behind bluster or rudeness: you should know that; have you [bothered] reading your notes? Well pardon me if I thought answering queries was part of your fucking job. Contrast this with the better managers at Stoke, who could quote chapter and verse from the regs and how to apply it to the query, without having to ask anyone else or look it up. Ask too many queries at Peterborough and I’d find myself summoned to see the service manager. (who I privately referred to as “The Brick”, for I’d have been better talking to one). Why don’t you know this? etc etc.

I could do nothing right in their eyes, and the team leader seemed to take pleasure in pointing this out as often as she could. As I wrote in a poem at the time (The Voices), if this is said to you often enough, you will start to believe it. No matter how much you may fight against it, it will wear you down. A war of attrition, fought with words rather than bullets. And it became a self-fulfilling prophecy. Looking back on it now, I believe I was set up to fail.

This will be the last time I write about this. This is the final venting of spleen. One cannot live on resentment and an over-developed sense of grievance. It poisons, slowly and chronically. So I will conclude with one final piece of vitriol, a last expectoration of bubbling spite. I can only wish both managers ill, but for the team leader, I hope one day she gets found out. I hope one day she picks on the wrong person and gets sacked for it. I won’t hold my breath for I’m enough of a realist to know that people like her seldom get justice visited on them. I’m sure the bitch will go far.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “The Last Blast of the Trumpet Against the Monstrous Rule of Stupid Bosses”

  1. chatroulette Says:

    Hello there, simply became aware of your weblog thru Google, and located that it’s truly informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you proceed this in future. Lots of people shall be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  2. archfriar Says:

    Mean and stupid, a bad combination. IDK why scum always rises to the top but it does.

Leave a Reply

