I Wouldn’t Wish Anyone Dead

I wouldn’t wish anyone dead,
Not even those in careless moments
Of heat or booze, I say I hate,
Not even the school tormentors
Who, in recollection, I say
I wouldn’t piss on if they were burning,
Not even them, though it’s a struggle.

I wouldn’t wish anyone dead,
Though thoughts clutter and cloud the brain.
Not mass murdering dictators,
Not liars elected or selected,
Noone’s worth the emotion,
A pebble’s bounce from loving them,
Put aside reaction, it’s distraction.

I wouldn’t wish anyone dead,
It’s a simple idea,
Don’t bother to analyse when the feeling grows
But stop and put it aside
Before the fire takes hold,
Blinds you to everything else, makes you its slave,
I wouldn’t wish anyone dead.

I wouldn’t wish anyone dead,
It’s easy enough to say, but
I’m no monk in a Spartan cell,
I can’t shut out the world so easily,
I wouldn’t wish anyone dead,
Though I think it far too often,
I wouldn’t wish anyone dead.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

