Later Than You Think

Late, I listen
To wind and rain, try
Not to think.

Late, I load
A CD, turn up the volume, try
Not to think.

Late, I pour
Tall drinks by the brimful, try
Not to think.

Late, vodka dulled,
I sing along under cans, try
Not to think.

What use is thought,
Dragging yourself along the same
Worn path?

Rain eroded, each drop
A slow dissolve
Of your skull?

Late, always late,
Try not to think
Or think too much,

The old see-saw, I know
Which way it will tip,
Where I’ll fall, stone scraped,

Look, it has drawn blood.
So much for my trying
Not to think,

Red gush, ruby fountain,
Iron-oxide spurt.
Try not thinking now.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

