Llanstephan

New Year’s Day 83,
I climb the hill to the castle,
Look down and over
The oystercatcher speckled water
Where the Towy meets the sea,
To misted Gower beyond.
From the battlements,
My shoulder on medieval stone,
I watch a train on the far shore
Pass Ferryside with a toot,
Remember last night,
Frosted sharp, skin biting night,
My glance up rewarded
With a meteor’s death streak.
Who else saw that?
That split-second flare
Ending a million year journey
To mark the passing of my year?
In that second
I forgot everything,
That fiery hot death lit me,
A gentle fire I could warm myself with
On frosty nights,
As thirty years on
I still do.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

